Honoring Outstanding Student Achievement

The next round of scholarship applications will appear in the CSAS portal on Nov. 1, 2022. The deadline to apply is Feb. 1, 2023. Click here to apply!

History Awards 2022

The George & Agnes Heltai Award in History: AnneMarie Underwood
The Heltai award is presented annually to the graduating senior whose academic achievement in their discipline merits the highest distinction. This award honors Dr. George G. Heltai, Professor in the department of History from 1967 to 1986, and Mrs. Heltai, his wife, for their devotion to the students, the faculty, and the intellectural and cultural life of the College. It is a gift from Dr. Malcolm Clark, Professor of History Emeritus.

The Douglas & Elizabeth Clark Memorial Scholarship: Katie Gardner
The Clark Scholarship is awarded to a rising junior or senior selected on the basis of academic excellence.

Alexander C. Dick Endowed Scholarship in Pre-Law: Reese Dickerhoff
This award is presented to a student with a serious interest in attending law school. The student must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.4 or higher, and possess all the attributes that go into making an outstanding member of the law profession.

The William Moultrie Cup: Regan Meloon
The Rebecca Motte Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution presents this cup and certificate to a History major in recognition of excellence in advanced study in American History.

Robert Hartman Quasi-Endowed Scholarship in HistoryElizabeth Stephens
This honor is awarded to a rising sophomore or junior History major with a GPA of 3.0 or higher.

John Winthrop Study Abroad Scholarship in History: Carolina Hannon, Jordyn Spraker, & Anna Walter
This scholarship is awarded to History majors with clearly articulated plans for how study abroad will further their educational goals.

The Albert R. Simonds Special Merit Award in History: Micah Shull
The Simonds Award is presented to a rising senior in History selected on the basis of academic excellence.

Outstanding History Student Award: Kennedy Caldwell
This honor is presented to the graduating student with the highest GPA in the Department of History.

Outstanding History Student Service Award: Karissa Venezia
This certificate is awarded to students with minimum GPAs of 3.5, with service to the Department of History.


HSS Scholars Award in History:

2022 -  Kennedy Caldwell & Lilly Fair

2021 - Jonathan Dattilio & Irene Pasquino

2020 - Elizabeth Burgher & Hillary Clark

2019 - Morgan Byars and Mills Pennebaker

2018 - Carolyn Dorey and Grace Hall

2017 - Hannah Edwards and Cora Wright

2016 - Anthony Gaspar and Madeleine Ware

2015 - Clerc Cooper and Benjamin Schaffer

2014 - Edgar Chopper Johnson and Danielle Winter

2013 - Amber Grace Joyner and Joseph Michael Bradshaw

2012 - Cassandra Hope Falk and Mary Hoyle

2011 - Jenna Barker and Paulina Suzán Stevens

2010 - Gabrielle S. Guillen and Sarah A. Morris

2009 - Daniel Burkard and Rachel Mossman

2008 - Natasha Hoover and Emrys Jaskwhich