CofC Logo

Phi Alpha Theta

The History Honor Society

Alumni Hall deskdesk

The Omega Phi Chapter at the College of Charleston is a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. We seek to bring students, teachers and writers of history together for intellectual and social exchanges, which promote and assist historical research and publication by our members in a variety of ways. To apply for membership fill out the Application Form and bring it to the History Offices in Maybank Hall. Include a recent grade audit and a check for $50.00 payable to College of Charleston. This is a one-time only fee, once you apply, you are a member for life. If you have any questions, please contact your chapter advisor: Professor Scott Poole.

As a member of Phi Alpha Theta, you are eligible to apply for the honor society’s awards and scholarships offered each year. All members are eligible to present a paper at the Biennial Convention and at the Phi Alpha Theta regional meeting. The most recent awards ceremony was held on Monday, January 27th in Randolph Hall.

The 2015 inductees are:

Matthew Anselmo
Daniel McCormac Bennett
Whitney C. Berkebile
Cynthia Brown
Andrea Comose
Taylor Currin
Danielle Alexandra Reams Cox
Joshua Ferguson
Janine Kelly Flathman
Alexandra Harrell
Kelly Hogan Kinard
Kyle L. Kesterson
I. Bailey Knight
Leah Loney
William D. Maddox
Paula R. McCarthy
Casandra Lucille Morris
Sierra Morris
Hope Mulry
Richard Olejarz
Matthew Orvin
Catherine Raines
Catherine Rodda
Alexandra Stephens
Kendra R. Wall
Meredith Wohl